Computational Electromagnetics Research Laboratory

W.J.R. Hoefer
P.P.M.So F. Rossi D.T.W. Fung C.Mcquay W.J.R. Hoefer D. Shannon


Dr. Wolfgang J.R. Hoefer
Professor Emeritus




Wolfgang J.R. Hoefer received the Dipl.-Ing. degree Dr. Wolfgang Wolfgang J.R. Hoefer received the Dipl.-Ing. degree in Electrical Engineering from the Technische Hochschule Aachen, Germany, in 1965, and the D. Ing. degree from the University of Grenoble, France, in 1968.

During the academic year 1968/69 he was a Lecturer at the Institut Universitaire de Technologie de Grenoble and a Research Fellow at the Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble, France. In 1969 he joined the Department of Electrical Engineering, the University of Ottawa, Canada where he was a Professor until March 1992. Since April 1992 he holds the NSERC/MPR Teltech Industrial Research Chair in RF Engineering in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, the University of Victoria, Canada.

During sabbatical leaves he spent six months with the Space Division of AEG-Telefunken in Backnang, Germany (now ATN), and six months with the Electromagnetics Laboratory of the Institut National Polytechnique de Grenoble, France, in 1976/77. During 1984/85 he has been a visiting scientist at the Space Electronics Directorate of the Communications Research Centre in Ottawa, Canada. He spent a third sabbatical year in 1990/91 as a visiting professor at the University of Rome "Tor Vergata" in Italy, the University of Nice - Sophia Antipolis in France, and the Technical University of Munich in Germany.

His research interests include numerical techniques for modeling electromagnetic fields and waves, computer aided design of microwave and millimeter wave circuits, microwave measurement techniques, and engineering education. He serves regularly on the Technical Program Committees of IEEE-MTT and AP Symposia, is the co-chairman of the MTT Technical Committee on Field Theory, and the co-founder and managing editor of the International Journal of Numerical Modelling. He serves on the editorial boards of the IEEE-MTT Transactions, Proceedings of the IEE, the International Journal of Microwave and Millimeter-Wave Computer Aided Engineering, and the Microwave and Optical Technology Letters. He was an "Invited Lansdowne Lecturer" of the University of Victoria, B.C., in. 1989, and was awarded the "Peter B. Johns Prize" for the best paper published in the International Journal of Numerical Modelling in 1990. He was elected Fellow of the IEEE for "contributions to the modeling and design of passive microwave and millimeter-wave circuits" in 1991.

A faculty home page is available.



Home ] Up ]

Send email to WebMaster with questions or comments about this web site.
Computational Electromagnetic Research Laboratory
Last modified: January 07, 2010